For full functionality of this site, it is necessary to enable JavaScript. Here are the instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.

Intergovernmental Budget & Economic Council (IBEC)

The Intergovernmental Budget and Economic Council (IBEC) is established under Section 187 of the Public Finance Management Act (2012).

The council is comprised of:

  • the Deputy President who shall be the Chairperson;
  • the Cabinet Cabinet Secretary responsible for matters relating to finance;
  • a representative of the Parliamentary Service Commission;
  • a representative of the Judicial Service Commission;
  • the Chairperson of the Commission on Revenue Allocation or a person designated by the Chairperson;
  • the Chairperson of the Council of County Governors;
  • every County Executive Committee member for finance; and
  • the Cabinet Secretary responsible for intergovernmental relations (currently the devolution ministry).

Role of the Intergovernmental Budget and Economic Council (IBEC)

The Role of the Intergovernmental Budget and Economic Council (IBEC) is to provide a forum for consultation and cooperation between the national government and county governments on—

  • the contents of the Budget Policy Statement, the Budget Review and Outlook Paper and the Medium-Term Debt Management Strategy (see key budget documents in Kenya);
  • matters relating to budgeting, the economy and financial management and integrated development at the national and county level;
  • matters relating to borrowing and the framework for national government loan guarantees, criteria for guarantees and eligibility for guarantees;
  • agree on the schedule for the disbursement of available cash from the Consolidated Fund on the basis of cash flow projections;
  • any proposed legislation or policy which has a financial implication for the counties, or for any specific county or counties;
  • any proposed regulations to the Public Finance Management (PFM) Act; and
  • recommendations on the equitable distribution of revenue between the national and county governments and amongst the county governments as provided in section 190 of the PFM Act; and
  • any other matter which the Deputy President in consultation with other Council members may decide.

Other Provisions

An appointed member of the Intergovernmental Budget and Economic Council (IBEC) holds office for two years. He or she is eligible for re-nomination and reappointment for another term not exceeding two years.

The National Treasury should provide secretariat services to the Council. It should assign or appoint such support staff as may be necessary for the Council to effectively perform its functions.

The Council should meet at least twice a year. The Deputy President shall decide the time and agenda for meetings of the Council in consultation with the other members of the Council.

In the absence of the Chairperson from any meeting of the Council, the Cabinet Secretary responsible for finance shall chair the meeting.

The Intergovernmental Budget and Economic Council (IBEC) may determine its own rules and procedures in such a manner as it considers appropriate.

The Council may invite other persons to attend any of its meetings.

A member of the Intergovernmental Budget and Economic Council shall cease to be a member if that person ceases to hold office by virtue of which he or she became a member of the Council.

Reproducing this content without explicit permission from the author is strictly prohibited. See our License Terms.

About githinji

I love writing content that is insightful and informative. The articles I write have a common #1 goal: Keeping it as simple as possible for users to understand the content.Read More

Leave a Question, Comment or Reply

All comments are moderated and your email address will NOT be published.

Hello You!

Did you enjoy this post? Sign up for our weekly digest of new articles.

No, thanks!